Future Social Profiles

It is amazing to me that only one of my friends, who are parents, own the domain names of their children. It’s 2013, they have kids who will enter the job market around 2030, and they’re not considering what the world might look like at that point.

Sadly, I think they’re still operating as though college, resumes and conventional expectations are still the only path forward. The moment my wife and I picked a name for our baby, a month or two before she was born, I registered her a .com, a Twitter and Facebook account, and a Yahoo! and Gmail address. Frankly, to think these tools will even be relevant when she’s older is just as naive… but, at least I have them and someone else doesn’t.

Leave a Reply

